Tags

, , ,

It is now dark so early I feel like a vampire and just want to curl up in front of the fire with something nice to eat. I am a bit short of money, so I am trying to get as many meals as I can out of what I have.

I had some root veggies – a couple of carrots, half a turnip and a parsnip – in the fridge, tins of tomatoes, beans and plenty of lentils in the cupboard, and decided I would make a lentil and vegetable soup. To the vegetables I have added chilli for a little heat, some ground cumin which I love, and the remains of a coriander pot. They went into the pan with a jar of passata and some stock, and cooked for about 25 minutes until the lentils and vegetables were done. I just have to make some bread to go with it.

While the soup was cooking, I started to make a lasagne. I fried onions, red pepper, mushrooms and frozen peas in a pan with some sprigs of thyme. They are now set aside to cool, and tomorrow I will make a nice tomato sauce with plenty of garlic, and a cheese sauce. The vegetables will be layered with the pasta sheets and tomato sauce and then cheese sauce will be poured on the top before it is baked. The left over tomato sauce will be eaten with pasta, and the cheese sauce with the cauliflower I have in the fridge.

This good, healthy food will keep me going for the next few days and I don’t have to worry about going shopping. I am going to go and make some lovely bread and then I am set (assuming the cat gets off my knee that is).