I think we are seeing the dying of the summer. Although today has been warm and at times bright and sunny, the forecast is for change.

The leaves are yet to turn but they are sure to do so soon. My climbing rose is having a second flush, its pretty pink, scented blooms wave proudly in the breeze for all too short a time, but it is beautiful. I moved it when the house was re-rendered recently and it is now opposite the kitchen door so I can actually see it.

There is an Autumnal feel to the evenings and it is dark by 8.00. This reminds me that I need to get lightbulbs, and a light fitting fixed to save me stumbling around in the half-light. It also reminds me that my boots need new soles, I need to get socks (I think that some of mine have been eaten by the sock monster as I only seem to have singles), and I need to take a top back for a different size, perhaps buying another at the same time. I have had all summer to get these things done, and have, as usual left it to the last minute. I was walking dogs in the rain today with sandals on. There is also a coat I intended to have made shorter and had forgotten all about.

I am still job hunting, although I could do with something I can do from home. Bracken’s confidence has come on in leaps and bounds since I have been at home with her, and I don’t want her to take a retrograde step. I took her to a fair at the weekend, and so confident has she become that she went around everyone with a sandwich and tried to persuade them that she was starving to death. They fell for it.

I have also started to take her for very short walks off the lead. We have not gone anywhere terribly exciting, just around the corner to the post box, but she has been great, not straying far from my side, and looking to me for instruction. She is a good girl when she wants to be.

The cooler weather means that a have a kitten scarf at night again. Mia sleeps with her bottom wedged firmly into the nape of my neck. I rather like it, although not so much when the weather is warmer. Fidget likes to snuggle up with her which usually means draping himself across me which is not terribly comfortable, and makes it difficult to move.

I am on the look out for a book of lovely vegetarian stew recipes, so if anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

