Tags

Well, I have gone and done it.

I have, in the past, had a go at growing my own vegetables – peppers, chillies, tomatoes and salad leaves  (although the cats got to those before I did). After Dad died I popped a few things in the veg plot at Mum’s, but because I was not there often enough they did not flourish, because of a lack of water. So, I have decided to give it a proper go.

I have a small, concreted back yard, so everything will have to be grown in pots, containers and grow bags. This afternoon, I found a raised, deep root vegetable planter on special offer and bought it. I am a bit late for this year, so I have little hope of getting anything terribly exciting to start, but I may get something.

There is not a great deal that can be planted now, although I believe that Coriander does quite well. Garlic, can be planted now, and in fact, needs to be hit by the cold and there are pea and broad beans which can also be planted in Autumn as can some onion varieties. I will be paying a visit to the garden centre this week to see what they have that will be suitable.

If you are really, really good (or bad depending on your point of view) I will keep you updated with the success, or more possibly failure of the whole thing, and if the worst come to the worst I could always grow flowers.

