A horrible thought struck me yesterday as I stood and admired my garlic (yes, I have become one of those people who can’t stop looking at their handiwork). Should a miracle happen, and I actually get to harvest some of the veggies I am nurturing, I need to find something to do with them.

The kholrabi and dwarf beans were planted at the weekend, so it is only the cauliflower and turnips to sow and the tomato plant to put out. I had pretty much given up on the aubergines, there was no sign of life at all, so I thought I would probably use the pot for cut and come again salad leaves.

I went out to check on everything this morning, to find that the kholrabi is already showing, there are a couple of beans and shock, horror a single aubergine is popping a tiny green shoot above the soil.

Assuming that I get crops from all my pots, I am going to be very well fed. I have been hitting the cook books, and internet for ideas. I am not the most inventive cook, so quite honestly need all the help I can get. “Cream Cheese with Beetroot stack and Beetroot salsa” sounds good to me, as does “Kohlrabi, Apple and Creamy Mustard Salad” but hopefully two recipes won’t be enough.

One thing I do know, is that I need to put in some herbs. I do have a Rosemary and a Bay Tree, neither of which I use, but some lovely thyme (great with mushrooms, cheese and beetroot) would be fabulous, and perhaps some parsley. Some more research is required I think.

