HAPPY NEW YEAR!

We have arrived in 2016, a year that is starting in the same soggy fashion as 2015 finished. For the last month or so, northern Britain has been coping with a deluge which has flooded homes and businesses and made life miserable for many and there seems to be no end in sight.

We are lucky here. Apart from a few fields in which ducks are enjoying a swim and a few major puddles on local roads, we have escaped serious flooding issues.

I am starting the new year full or lurgy – sort of a cold with added extras I will not bore you with. The furry overlords naturally care nothing about the fact that I am not feeling well. They cats are still causing mayhem and the dog is still shouting at me. I suppose the time to worry is if this stopped, because then I would know something was afoot.

It is hard to believe that this time last year I was looking forward to a fabulous Australian holiday. Stopping in Singapore for a few days on the way, I was going to visit friends who live in Canberra. We had a fabulous week in Melbourne, a week in Sydney, and a week at the beach.

Australia is such a vast country, but I don’t think I realised just how big until I flew from Singapore to Sydney. The flight was about 8 hours, and 5 hours of that was across Australia.

The year has gone so quickly, and last year had highs and lows. It will be interesting to see what this year brings .  One thing is certain, the furry overlords will continue to rule the roost and the dog will continue to shout at me.

I hope that 2016 brings good things to all of you.

