I was watching a fish pie being made on a cookery program recently and had an idea.

As a vegetarian, I don’t eat fish, but something about a lovely creamy sauce topped with smooth mashed potato started me thinking. I decided I would make a none-fish pie. The question was what would I put in it?

I dusted off my thinking cap, and thought that a nice selection of vegetables such as mushrooms, peas, broccoli and red peppers would work quite well.

A shopping trip later, I fried off some onion, peppers, mushrooms, courgettes and peas and popped them into a dish. A lovely cheese sauce was poured on top and then the whole thing was covered with a smooth, creamy mashed potato.

The dish was set aside until I was ready to eat, and then popped into a pre-heated oven for 30 minutes or so. Then scoff! Very yummy it was too and something I would make again.

